Chronicles of a Crossguard

For sometime I have talked about writing a book about my experience as a school crossing guard. I know that it doesn’t seem that exciting but see if through my eyes and I promise it is more than holding a sign. I started cross guarding in August 2008 to June 2009, I started back in September 2010 to current. I work on Lakeline and Cougar Country in the morning and Lakeline and New Hope in the afternoon. I cross elementary and junior high students with two of the amazing ladies I ever met, Lavenda and Cyndie. Through their encouragement this is coming to light.

Chapter 1 – SLOW DOWN (yes there is a school zone)

In the morning as the world is starting to move and all the busy bee’s are leaving for work, We are standing on the corner waiting to cross children. We know how mornings can be, we are human after all, there are a few (repeat offenders too) that either dismiss the two REALLY BIG blinking yellow lights on a sign that says “SCHOOL ZONE 20 MPH”, or they are running late and try to fly through without being stopped. Let’s start with the drivers who speed, SLOW DOWN, yes that is a school zone and yes there are little children who have to cross the street. We know you’re in a hurry because you either slept in or took to long getting ready, you already know what time you have to be there so why are you still rushing? I will say, even though it is dangerous, speeders are our favorite people to stop, and yes we hold the sign and we can hold it as long as we see fit (properly crossing the kids of course). So maybe next time I would think about leaving just a few minutes earlier because we will slow you down. My favorite is when we see a speeder coming through (can’t yell at them anymore) we look at the driver and look down at their license plates (like we can see it) and watch them step on their brakes as they pass, yes even you Mr. Shifty Eyes, you know when drivers look down to see how fast they are going and try to do it by shifting only their eyes? We see that too! If you have to check your speed I’m 99% positive you are speeding. It’s sad the best entertainment we get is watching the police (which happens on a RARE occasion) pull the habitual speeders over! Double FINE!!!!! What really amazes me is when the drivers give us the look, you know the I CAN”T BELIEVE YOU JUST MADE ME STOP LOOK. Yes, we really just jumped out in the road, while you where speeding already, and help up our little red sign that clearly says “STOP” not “POTS”. We have been cursed at, flipped off, called on and my favorite, the sign runner. I guess they thought the sign said “POTS”, maybe we should be crossing them to walk back to school so they can learn to read again.

My thought for this is “People these are your children we are crossing, making sure they get to school safe so you can relax and not rush.” So please next time SLOW DOWN.

**********if I have spare time in the day or evenings I will post new entries on different (bad, good, funny, sad) experience***********

3 thoughts on “Chronicles of a Crossguard

Leave a Reply

